UPSC Current Affairs

Presidential Election, 2022

Presidential election - Ekam IAS

Presidential Election, 2022

  • The 16th Presidential election of India will be held on 18th July 2022.
  • The candidates are the former Jharkhand Governor Droupadi Murmu from the ruling party and the Opposition’s choice, senior politician and former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha.
  • The Indian President is the head of the state and he is also called the first citizen of India.
  • He is a part of Union Executive along with the Vice-President, Prime Minister, Council of Ministers, and Attorney-General of India.
How is President elected?
  • The Indian President is elected through an electoral college system, wherein the votes are cast by national and State-level lawmakers (Legislatures).
  • The elections are conducted and overseen by the Election Commission (EC) of India.
  • The electoral college responsible for President’s elections comprises elected members of:
  1. Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha
  2. Legislative Assemblies of the states (Legislative Councils have no role)
  3. Legislative Assemblies of the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry
Term of the President’s office
  • Once President is elected, he holds office for five years.
  • He sits in the office even after the completion of five years until a new President takes the office.
  • He can also be re-elected and there is no cap on his re-election.
What are the qualifications of the President?
  • He should be an Indian Citizen
  • His age should be a minimum of 35 years
  • He should qualify the conditions to be elected as a member of the Lok Sabha
  • He should not hold any office of profit under the central government, state government, or any public authority
Impeachment of a President
  • The only condition for the initiation of impeachment of the Indian president is the ‘violation of the constitution.’
Model Question

Q. With reference to the President of India, consider the following statements :

  1. The Indian President is the head of the Government.
  2. Violation of Constitution is the only ground to impeach the President.
  3. The nominated members of Parliament as well as the MLAs does not constitute the electoral college of the President.

Which of the statements given above are “not” correct?

(a) 1 and 2 only

(b) 2 and 3 only

(c) 1 and 3 only

(d) 1, 2 and 3

Answer : C

To UPSC-standard MCQs, join our Telegram Channel.

To get years of subjectwise-segregated newspaper articles, join our subjectwise Telegram Channels.

Join our 140k+ YouTube community to watch free classes on various UPSC related topics.

Follow us on Instagram for UPSC updates.

Click here to read more UPSC Current Affairs.

About us

Ekam IAS is the oldest online IAS institute in Kerala. We’ve years of experience in mentoring and teaching students all over the nation, helping them achieve their UPSC-dream through the right guidance, strategy, and precise content. Join Ekam IAS and turn your UPSC-dream into reality.

To learn customizable preparation strategies, book an appointment with our UPSC-expert. Book Now.

Leave your thought here

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *